Interns must successfully complete all four (4) sections of the Examination for Architects in Canada in order to become licensed with the AANB.

Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC) 

The Provincial/Territorial Architectural Licensing Authorities in Canada (Licensing Authorities) have the mandate to ensure both public safety and professional skilled delivery of architectural services in their respective jurisdictions. Mechanisms have been established to ensure the competence of architects, both when they enter the profession and throughout their professional careers. The licensing/registration examination is one of these mechanisms.

In 2006, the Alberta Association of Architects (AAA), the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) and the Ordre des architectes du Québec (OAQ) agreed to develop a new Canadian licensing/registration examination, over which they would have complete control, including its development, updates and administration. 

The Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC) which, to date, all of the Canadian Licensing Authorities have adopted, was developed to test the minimum standards of competency acquired by an Intern during the Internship period, to ensure both public safety and the professional and skilled delivery of architectural services. 

The ExAC has been offered since 2008. 

Examination Format 

The ExAC is comprised of four (4) sections and covers the following subject areas noted on the ExAC website – www.exac.ca.

It is important to note that this is a practice-based examination and experience gained in the identified subject areas is essential. 

Additional Information 

For comprehensive information on the ExAC including:

  • Registration details
  • General and specific objectives of the ExAC
  • References and Resources
  • Tip on writing the ExAC
  • Success rates
  • Preparation
  • Examination dates 

Visit – www.exac.ca